Quin-T Democrat Club

Quin-T Democrat Club

The Quin-T Democrat Club is the oldest currently operating Democrat club in Clermont County.

At one time, nearly five decades ago, all fourteen townships in Clermont County had their own Democrat Clubs. These clubs faded into history as their members took up more centralized activism in the Clermont County Democratic Party, county and state candidates’ campaigns, and local groups dedicated to various progressive issues.

Five Townships: Ohio, Monroe, Bethel-Tate, Washington and Franklin, banded their Democrat Clubs together and the result is a group that still flourishes today as Quin-T. The name is derived from Quin, meaning five, with a T representing townships. Past presidents include Paul Campbell, Evelyn Zimmerman, Constance Lighthall, Charlie Green, Bobbi Kuhn, Raymond Lembke, and Micheall Reed. The current president is Cheryl Richards.

The main accomplishments of the Club are the Annual Quin-T Fall Dinner, and from 2000-2009, the Annual Feast at the River. As a result, the Feast raised, on average, $10,000, so over the years the event raised just over $100,000. All the money went to local and statewide candidates. In recent years Quin-T has hosted an annual dinner in October at the Grant Career Center in Bethel with guest speakers including Aftab Pureval, Ohio Supreme Court Justice Michael Donnelly and Ohio House Minority Leader Emilia Sykes. The club in collaboration with the West Clermont Dems rented a booth at New Richmond River Days for several years to display our Democratic values. We collaborated with the Clermont County Democratic Party, the West Clermont Democratic Club and the Clermont County Young Democrats to further awareness of progressive issues in the county. Many members have run for public office as well.

Although the name of the club implies restricted membership to the five townships all are welcome no matter where you live. The annual dues to join is $12. You may make checks out to the Quin-T Democrat Club and may be mailed to Quin-T Democrat Club, PO Box 26, Moscow, Ohio 45153.

Due to the current COVID restrictions we have not been meeting in person. It was decided at our December 2021 Zoom meeting that we would conduct club meetings via Zoom every other month with the club officers meeting in the months in between. Check this site or our Facebook page for dates and Zoom links for future club meetings.
2022 Quin-T Officers:
President – Cheryl Richards
Vice President – Sidnie Reed
Treasurer – Deborah Cook
Secretary – Open